Another belated update

I told Betsy before she went on vacation that I would update my blog.  I didn’t update my blog.  Betsy is back from vacation.

So now I am updating my blog.

It’s not that I don’t have enough time to update my blog.  I mean, if I can laze around in bed watching British reality television at night, I have enough time to write something about my day.  I think it’s just more a matter of getting in the habit of writing about my days that is the problem.  The fact that I would like to write compelling prose and often feel that all I can muster is drivel doesn’t help.

In any event, I almost got hit in the head by a pigeon the other day.  The pigeons seem to fly quite low here.  It came out of nowhere and flew right at me!  After an awkward duck-and-dart maneuver into oncoming traffic, I escaped pigeon decapitation. I arrived home and got a text from Red saying a pigeon pooped on him.  I guess his pigeon experience trumps mine.

I have started going to yoga every morning.  I managed to haggle down the cost of going to a posh ashtanga studio in Camden that does Mysore style yoga.  It’s really refreshing, and after so long of not going to yoga I really appreciate it.  The yogi there is really genuine; he so obviously cares about all of his students.  Everyone works at their own pace, so upon first glance it might look like absolute chaos inside the studio, with people in different asanas and at varying degrees of sweatiness, but this creates a buzzing atmosphere that I have been enjoying.

I still haven’t made any actual friends here.  It’s a bit lame, but I’m sure friends will come in time.  A PhD student is on exchange from UPenn for the year (traveling with undergraduate junior-year-abroad students) and she’s auditing one of my classes.  We discovered that we actually both live in International Hall, and she was due to come over last night for drinks and to meet Red.  The thing is, I gave her my telephone number, but I gave her the wrong number.  I’m pretty awesome.  We’ll probably do drinks over at my flat next week sometime.

None of the family has made any plans yet to come over for my wedding in December.  This is slightly disconcerting.  Danica and mom still don’t have passports.

Awesome.

This weekend, Red and I are going back to Essex to do a bunch of wedding planning.  His mother suggested we do this – come back for a weekend and just do all the planning we need to do and get it out of the way so we (read: I) don’t have to worry about it.  It’s a good idea.  I had a dream the other day that it was the day of the wedding and we hadn’t arranged any food for the reception.

My subconscious is obviously trying to tell me something.

2 comments

  1. Dani · October 20, 2008

    It’s so interesting to read your blog! how are the courses at uni going? tell me honestly, because I might take one at King’s someday! I’m very jealous of you for being over there already, but I’m saving up some precious dinero right now, so…I’m sure the next year will pass quickly. is your program a one-year?

    congratulations on your wedding! I assume it will be over there? I bet you’re very excited; the dreams are unavoidable. I still have dreams that a paper is due tomorrow and I haven’t even begun :X I think that never goes away.

    but sadly, I do know what you mean about the not being in school thing. for the first time in my life, I’m not in school, and if I’m going to be perfectly honest, I hate it. I feel lost, and somewhat unfulfilled. it’s not that I’m not reading books, because I definitely am! but I’m not discussing them, or writing papers about them, etc. I’m filled with anxiety because it’s like, what am I working toward? you know what I mean?

    anyway, I’m glad to read that things are going well for you. your blog is amusing and educating at the same time (now I know where to find the sour cream when I inevitably want it!). how is the weather? are you putting all the photos on Facebook?

    please keep in touch! I hope to meet back up with you next year!

    PS. did you get a new phone when you went over? I guess you moved indefinitely, but I plan on coming back to the States at some point…so I gotta figure this phone/bank account stuff out. 🙂

  2. Jessica · November 6, 2008

    I didn’t know you were getting married in December. 😦 THIS December?

Leave a Reply

