The pound’s diet.

The pound is at a five-year low against the dollar.  Right now, one of my dollars can get me nearly 63p!  Now, if that doesn’t mean anything to you, consider for a moment how much I was getting for my dollar in England when I moved: 50p.  Or you can think of it in its opposite terms: to buy something that cost one pound, I had to shell out two dollars.

I don’t really know how I feel about this development, really.  While it will be good to get a better exchange rate on my student loans yet to come through, I will have a harder time paying back those student loans when I enter the workplace.

It’s good news for anyone who’s still planning on visiting England in December for the wedding.  All four of you.

I haven’t left the house for over 48 hours because of the sickness.  I’ve been watching the news every morning, and it says the weather is unseasonably cold.  I wouldn’t have been able to tell you that, as the temperature inside my fifth-floor flat feels quite warm, without any heating on.  I’m planning on leaving the house to go to the farmer’s market and the grocery store later this afternoon, as my diet of porridge and peanut butter is starting to bore me.  Somehow in the last week of not really venturing out of the house other than to go to school, the food supply in the flat has plummeted.  I have run out of all basic supplies and Red has eaten takeaway for the last couple of days. I think this speaks for my importance in the cohabitational dynamic.

Although, I haven’t been able to taste anything for about 24 hours, so I guess the fact that I’ve only been feeding my body what essentially amounts to gruel isn’t that big of a deal.

I haven’t been to yoga in four days, so this in combination to the fact that I haven’t really gotten out of bed for 48 hours makes my body feel super lame.  And my head feels like it’s full of snot.  What is that all about?  How can one head contain so much mucus, I ask you?

I’m definitely glad now about my decision to do all the wedding planning last weekend, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

