These pregnant pauses are starting to feel quite laboured.

I think I might just call it a day on paper writing.  It’s weird, really.  I had two 5000-word papers to write at the end of the term, and I had an idea that I loved and really got behind before the term ended, having done all the research and written up lengthy notes and outlines.  And then I started to get worried that I had no idea what I would write my second paper about.  I spend at least two weeks reading, researching, following leads, getting frustrated, starting over.  And then I just started writing the damn paper, and it all came so easily and I was done in three days.  And that wasn’t even three days of intensive paper writing.  And now I have embarked on the REAL paper.  My earlier pet project.  And it’s coming out on paper (er, in Word) in such a laboured manner.  Every word I type is pregnant.  [That pun was accidental.  My puns are always accidental.  I must just be like a super subconscious genius.  I’m going to use it as the blog title.  Yeah, that one up there.]

Gah.

Really, I’m quite close to reaching the 5000-word limit, but I don’t really feel I’ve given the argument justice, which probably means I have a lot of revision ahead of me.  I have five days left, so I’m not worried about it, but I’d certainly like it to just be done with and out of the way.  Or, rather, I’d like to have a little bit of time off before returning to it for proofreading and revision.

But for now, I am done.  Until tomorrow.

I went to meet up with Molly to get lunch at The Place Below, a vegetarian cafe in the crypt of St Mary Le Bow’s church.  I’ve wanted to try it out for a while now, and the one time I went was back around September of last year with Red.  Since I make him eat vegetarian every day, I felt sort of bad making him eat vegetarian on his lunch break, so we opted to go somewhere else.  The food was tasty, and the atmosphere was cool, but it was sort of overpriced.  I mean, I know it’s in the City Mile and everything, but it’s vegetarian food!  Vegetarian lunch food shouldn’t be £8 a plate.  

Meh, three stars.

In other news, I purchased plane tickets to Orlando, New York and back between May 12th and May 24th.  And I’ve booked a cheap (by NYC standards) hotel in the Upper (lower) West Side.  We got a ‘Not for Tourists’ guidebook for the city and are starting to make some plans.  It is starting to feel like I’m going on a real holiday!

We still have to make an itinerary for Florida to send to friends and family.  I will try to firm things up with the husbatron shortly.

Leave a Reply

