”Chicken” Spaghetti Casserole

Hm, so Red installed Windows 7 on my computer for early testers.  It has this new thing that when I press the apostrophe key it inserts a quotation mark instead if it feels that’s really what I want.  I don’t know how I feel about that.  I just now got used to using apostrophes for quotation marks when I’m scare quoting something (or quoting anything at all, really, as that’s the British way of punctuation.  At least, it was… perhaps now it’s moving over to all-quotation-marks- all-the-time). [Wait a minute, NO!  When I go to put a quotation mark in properly, it inserts a DOUBLE QUOTATION MARK!!!!1!!  Man, that’s going to be hella annoying until Microsoft releases a patch.  What the fuck?  When I hit the apostrophe key once, nothing shows up.  When I hit the apostrophe key once (without anything appearing) and then the “C” key I get a ç.  Fuck’s sake.  I will have to investigate this, as finishing the rest of my critical evaluation (which I should be doing now instead of posting this blog entry) will prove to be infuriating without a solution.] Crisis averted.  It had something to do with a default keyboard setting being US-International.  Who uses funny European-language characters anyway?  Peh.

 

Anyway, yes.  I made the always crowd-pleasing ‘Chicken’ Spaghetti Casserole last night for dinner and took some pictures.  I’m realizing that the camera on my Blackberry simply will not do for taking pictures in the future, as the pictures make the dinner look a bit shit.  But trust me when I say that Red always eats it with relish, as do I.  

The recipe is (very) freely adapted from something in Leah Leneman’s Vegan Cooking for One.   

 

Ingredients  jj

  • Half bag of Quorn ‘chicken’ pieces
  • 4 spring onions
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 servings’ worth of dried whole wheat linguine
  • 2 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 8-oz soya milk
  • 1 tbsp vegan butter substitute
  • 1-2 tbsp breadcrumbs
  • nutritional yeast (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Step one: Boil water in small pot.  Break your dried pasta into thirds.  Drop thirded pasta into water and cook as per package instructions, minus 2 minutes (you should stop cooking a little bit before the pasta reaches al dente, as you’ll be putting it in the oven later and you don’t want it to come out overcooked).  Drain

Step two: While pasta is cooking, chop red pepper and spring onions.  Melt vegan butter in another pot and then put your red pepper in.  Stir fry for about 3 minutes.  Put in your spring onions.  Stir fry for about 1 more minute.  Add your chicken pieces and cook for another 2 minutes or so (if you’re cooking from frozen, if not, just cook until the chicken is warmed through).

Step three: Stir in the whole wheat flour.  Then slowly add the soya milk bit by bit, stirring continuously, until it forms a thickened sauce.

Step four: Add salt and pepper to taste.  Add nutritional yeast if you want.  Stir to combine.

Step five: Add drained pasta and stir until well mixed.

Step six: Transfer mixture to oven-safe dish and smooth off the top.  Sprinkle breadcrumbs over the entire surface area.

Step seven: Bake or grill in preheated oven until the top is crispy looking.

Step eight: Enjoy.  Rue the fact that you have more mess than usual to clean up in the kitchen.  Or feel happy that, as the cook, you’re not the one in charge of the cleaning.

'Chicken' Spaghetti Casserole

Leave a Reply

