A not-food post.

So it was cool outside today.  Is it cool in my flat, though?  Negative.

I am keenly aware of just how much heat my laptop gives off because of this flat in the summer.  It’s almost encouraging me to just turn it off.

Almost.

Not quite.

 

I received my copy of Veganomicon in the mail today.  I was really excited about it until I started looking through the recipes and realizing just how much time they each seem to take to prepare.  That and the fact that they feed, like, eight people and dividing American recipes by four is really fucking difficult.  I’m beginning to appreciate the metric system here in the UK a little at this point.  Also, a lot of the recipes call for quintessentially American products, like liquid smoke.  I finally got my hands on some vital wheat gluten and now I have to find some liquid smoke?  Give me a break.

But I’m still pretty stoked about Veganomicon, I’m not going to lie.  Maybe I’ll make some baked goods from it.  Surely I’ll have enough ingredients in the cupboards for that. 

 

I had a dissertation meeting with Clare this afternoon and have come off of it with renewed dissertation vigour.  She was genuinely excited about my project after reading my critical evaluation, which is a great thing, and she essentially gave me permission to ignore criticism for the time being and devote my time and effort solely to translating and musing on the Junius 11 Genesis.  This is a good thing.  I really need to focus more on it, but there was that researcher in me that didn’t want to give up her secondary sources.  Even when there are no secondary sources to be found on my dissertation topic.  So, starting tomorrow, it’s translate, translate, translate. 

I need to find a good workplace.  Somewhere that has wifi, is comfortable, doesn’t mind me being there all day and preferably has some refreshments for purchase.

Yes.

One comment

  1. Heather · June 5, 2009

    I have to quarter or half EVERY recipe in Veganomicon (unless it is dessert and I am sharing). These are my favorites that should not require funky ingredients:

    Pumpkin Ziti with Carmelized Onions & Sage Breadcrumbs, Eggplant Moussaka, Tamarind Lentils (I think you will love this), Mexi-Millet, Baja Tempeh Tacos and Chickpea Noodle Soup. I’m looking forward to reading about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

