Jerk Tofu

While we were in Essex this weekend, I brought my new Veganomion cookbook with me so that I could try out recipes in a fully stocked and equipped kitchen.  I realised, however, that a vegetarian’s ‘fully stocked’ kitchen is different from a non-vegetarian’s ‘fully stocked’ kitchen.  So I didn’t get to make any baked goods or even the recipes I truly wanted to test out, but I made do.  In fact, I chose a recipe that I thought Eddie (father-in-law) would appreciate for a Sunday roast dinner.  So, I wasn’t going to choose anything vegan-y exotic anyway.  I ended up making the Leek and Bean Cassoulet, but I didn’t take pictures, so no recap here as of yet.  It was quite tasty in the downhome-stodgy-starchy kind of way.  So, perfect really for a vegetarian Sunday dinner served to non-vegetarians.  It was a hit.

Anyway, I digress from the matter at hand.  I accidentally left my copy of Veganomicon in Essex.  Boo.  So I just found something from the PPK  to tide me over until I can get the cookbook back.  Jerk Tofu.  Served with a sweet potato and broccoli. 

Jerk Tofu

Now, I’ll be honest.  I don’t usually like component meals.  I like one-pot meals that incorporate everything a healthy vegetarian needs.  That is to say, I want my vegetables and my protein source to be handily contained in a single serving.  While this was certainly tasty, I don’t think I will be bothered to do it again.  I had to make the marinade way ahead of time so I could marinate the tofu for a couple hours.  Then I had to cook up the broccoli and sweet potatoes separately. 

Also, this meal calls for a lot of olive oil because the tofu is shallow fried.  So if you’re not looking for something greasy, this one’s not for you.  If you are, then proceed and be merry.  Although, it would probably be just as good if not better if it were baked in the oven instead of fried, so I might try that if I can be bothered to make the marinade again in the future.  It wasn’t really as big of a hassle as I’m making it out to be; I just can’t stress enough how little hindsight I tend to have and how little patience I therefore have for recipes that require me to start three hours before I want to eat.

Ingredients

  • 150g extra firm/firm tofu pressed for one hour

         for the marinade

  • 1/2 large white onion, roughly choppped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger, grated
  • juice of 2 limes
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme
  • 2 teaspoons allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and chopped (or one if you don’t want it too spicy)

Step one Put all marinade ingredients into a blender/food processer and whir until completely smooth.

Step two Cut the tofu up into pieces in the shape of your choice.  (I went with the uninspired rectangle.)

Step three Emerge tofu pieces in marinade and let sit for at least two hours.  If marinading overnight, place in refrigerator

Step four Heat 1/4-inch oil in a skillet and place tofu into skillet when it’s hot enough to make a sizzling sound.  Cook for eight minutes.  Use tongs to flip all the tofu pieces over.  Cook for another eight minutes.

Step five Remove tofu from oil and let dry on a paper bag or paper towels. Serve with accompaniments of your choice.

Leave a Reply

