Sizing woes

I’ve become increasingly annoyed with sizing of late.

I don’t know if it’s because my body is changing or if clothing manufacturers are getting more stupid, but I can never seem to find underwear or jeans/trousers that fit me.  My ass is always hanging out the bottom of pants, which are always riding up. I can never seem to sausage my thighs into a pair of jeans, and when I find a pair of jeans that fit my thighs and hips, the waist is ridonculously gaping.  It’s not like I can just lay off on the cakes for a little while as a solution, because I have practically protruding hip bones, for christsake.

I’m angry. angryangryangry. Marks and Spenser tricked me into buying some stupid-fitting Brazilian-style shorts knickers.  No, Marks and Spenser, despite popular (male?) opinion women don’t all want to walk around in sex-pot knickers every day.  Fuck. 

I headed over to the Gap to try to find some pants and ended up finding some insanely good sales on jeans. I tried on an 8. Couldn’t get them up over my thighs, much less the bum. I tried on a 10.  They fit comfortably on my thighs and hips; sadly, I could have squeezed another person into the waist with me.

And then I came across something truly magnificent.  Size 8 in the ‘curvy’ fit.  Where has this been all my life? They fit like a glove!  But I guess the Gap doesn’t really think there are many slim ‘curvy’ girls out there, as the store only had one pair of them in one colour that was not on sale.  Am I a paradox?

Damnit.

The search for good-fitting pants and jeans continues.

2 comments

  1. Michaelia · July 8, 2009

    I have the same exact problem with the waistband gaping! I LOVE Gap jeans! I just snapped up 3 pairs of the same jeans (each $20) because the line (Curvy Mid Rise Bootcut) is going out of production. I don’t like my buttcrack / muffin tops hanging out so I hate low riders.

    But the most trouble I have is finding long inseams. Normal inseams are 30″, I need a 31″ or 32″ or I look like I’m waiting for a flood.

  2. Larissa · July 8, 2009

    It’s going out of production??

    Why does God hate me?!

    I wouldn’t have pegged you as a ‘curvy’ girl (maybe it’s because you’re so tall compared to me), but it’s good to know that I’m not the only one who needs this sort of cut! Why don’t more manufacturers make it??

Leave a Reply

