Return to Form – Vegan ‘Beef’ and Mushroom Stroganoff

Okay, so we’re pretty much all moved in and settled.  The kitchen is (almost fully) stocked, much more so than my pantry/refrigerator ever was back in the studio flat in Bloomsbury, at least.  I’ve started trying to grow some potted herbs; right now I have basil, coriander and hot chilli.  We’re still waiting for some furniture from Ikea and to unpack the last of the boxes once it gets here, but this flat is starting to feel like home.  Well, it felt like home the moment we moved in.  I love our new flat.  Once we have the rest of the furniture, have unpacked and have hung the television and computer monitor in the sitting room, I’ll take some proper pictures of the flat and post them for all you voyeurs.  Plus, even though our landlady describe this place as ‘a hot flat’, it’s so not hot! After living in the sauna room that was 5C24 International Hall on Lansdowne Terrace in Bloomsbury, this place is like a fucking ice box.  Yay for cooking whatever I want in the middle of summer in my fabulous kitchen!

I’ve cooked various things in the new kitchen, but nothing new or particularly exciting simply because I haven’t got into the swing of things.  I’ve made some cookies, though.  Baking FTW!

Last night I cooked a mushroom stroganoff off the cuff.  I followed no recipe and just threw things in that I thought would be tasty and complementary.  But Red was going to a Yelp poker night near Victoria and then I decided to join him at the last second.  This meant that the stroganoff had time to sit and ferment, if you will.  And then it got to sit in the refrigerator for a day.  And then it was reheated for dinner tonight.  This gave the flavour a lot of time to develop, so it tasted great!  I’m sure it would have tasted good freshly cooked as well, but keep the developing time in mind if you ever choose to make something similar.  Stews and stroganoffs only taste better when reheated/eaten as leftovers.

mushroom stroganoff

Ingredients

  • 4 Portabello mushrooms, chopped coarsely
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 servings of soya mince (more or less to your preference)
  • 110mL soya cream
  • big dollop of soya sour cream
  • 150-200mL red wine
  • several splashes of vegan worcesteshire sauce
  • several splashes of liquid aminos
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • water as needed
  • salt and pepper to taste

Step One Caramelise the onion in the vegetable oil over medium-low heat (15-20 minutes) in a big pot.  Add the mushrooms, coating them with the onion mixture.  Add the red wine and sautee until mushrooms are soft and liquid has seeped from them.

Step Two Add the soya mince, soya cream, soya sour cream, worcesteshire sauce, liquid aminos, thyme and stir everything together.  Add water to create a soupy consistency.  Boil over medium heat uncovered for several minutes, until the mixture has reduced to a thick consistency (although still with a bit of watery-ness).  Cover the pot with a tight-fitting lid and simmer over the lowest heat for at least 20 minutes.  The longer it simmers, the better.  Check on the mixture periodically and add more water as necessary; never let the mixture start to stick to the bottom of the pot.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Step Three A (not necessary but makes it taste better) Remove from the heat and let sit for a couple hours.  Transfer to a container and refrigerate overnight.  Reheat over medium-low to low heat.

Step Three B Serve over cooked pasta of your choice.  (Buckwheat spiral pasta featured in photo)

Yields 2 big dinner portions, 3-4 smaller portions

3 comments

  1. Heather · August 11, 2009

    Whoa, I am totally making this soon. But is soya cream basically soy milk, or is that more like Silk creamer? I’ve mostly cut out soy, but I think every once in awhile won’t kill me.

  2. Larissa · August 12, 2009

    Um, no, it’s probably not like Silk creamer, as that’s made for coffee and probably has added sugar. I guess if you could find a Silk creamer that doesn’t have a significant amount of sugar in it that it would work all right, yeah. Basically, it’s just like a thick soy milk just as cream is like thick milk.

    It was pretty damn tasty, I have to say. I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it turned out to be. I’ll definitely make it again in the future. I might add more soy sour cream, though. If you can’t find appropriate soy creamer, you should just add a lot of soy sour cream, as that’s what stroganoff is traditionally made with anyway.

  3. Heather · August 12, 2009

    I’ve used the Silk creamer to make alfredo before and it’s surprisingly turned out okay, but I think all the garlic offset that. I think I will just try non-dairy milk + faux sour cream. Maybe I could dupe my parents into eating this, too. I will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

