Job Search

So I’ve made it through my first official week without a job.

I turned in my dissertation on Monday and have been trying to fill my days with activities since.  I get pretty bored.  Yesterday, I went into London early to meet Lizzie for some coffee at 10am.  Cindy had planned an Indian dinner to celebrate the arrival of her best friend from the States at 7pm.  That left me with nine whole hours to wander the streets of London.  Some people might think, ‘Wow, what a lucky girl. She has hours in a fabulous city to do anything she wants!’  But I used to live in central London.  And when presented with this day of freedom, I think, ‘-yawn-‘.

So I just meandered.

For nine hours.

My feet hurt today.

I heard from the recruiter who found my CV on Monster and has been trying to place me as a copy editor for a medical publisher just outside of London (or, rather, the M25).  They had sent me an editing test on Monday, and I whipped it out when I returned home on Monday night.  I was met with emails of surprise and praise from the recruiter.  It wasn’t difficult.  I wonder how long they were expecting it to take me to finish.  Or, rather, I wonder if English work ethic is piss poor and if tasks presented to employees by their employers are regarded with no sense of haste.  In any event, if I don’t score an interview with this medical employer, I can tell that the recruiter is willing to work on my behalf, mostly because he wants to make money off of me by successfully placing me in a position.  He asked me if there were any companies that I specifically wanted to work for, as he could contact them for me.

That caught me off guard.

Here I was just hoping for a job – any job – that would pay me money.  I guess having a master’s degree, years of relevant experience and a lot of self-motivation and a drive to succeed means that you are allowed to be selective when it comes to a career.  Even when the economy stinks.

Sweet.

I may change my tune in a couple weeks’ time if and when I still don’t have a job, but right now my prospects are looking good.

So, for whom do I want to work?

2 comments

  1. Dani · September 20, 2009

    Congratulations on turning in your dissertation!! What was the title?

    Our family friend works at Sotheby’s. That’d be pretty fun? I’m sure you will find something soon. Good luck with your search 🙂

  2. Larissa · September 20, 2009

    ‘Biblical Women in Anglo-Saxon Times:
    The Figuration of the Feminine in Genesis A’

Leave a Reply

