The magical changing industrial holder-y thing

When Red and I moved to Wandsworth, everything seemed normal.  We would walk down Old York Road from the station and hang left to get to our flat.  To the right, we would see some vaguely industrial things, but nothing that would blot out the landscape.  Industry that just gave the area character, I suppose you could say.

This is the sort of character we’d see.

The industry in the area was so inconsequential that I didn’t even think about it, really.

Until one day I walked out of my flat and started walking down to the station and suddenly saw a GREAT BIG CIRCULAR RUSTY THING THAT WAS HUNDREDS OF FEET TALL!

WTF?  Where did that come from?  Has that been there all along?  Am I imagining thing?  Has the light changed and hit this monstrosity in such a way that I suddenly have noticed it where I hadn’t before?  WHAT IS GOING ON?!?!  Was there scaffolding around it when we moved in and I therefore just ignored it completely?  THESE WERE IMPORTANT QUESTIONS!

After the initial shock, I got used to it.  I mean, I thought I was going crazy, but I got used to that too.  I sometimes thought the thing was changing heights.  Yesterday, for example, as Red and I were walking to B&Q, we had a discussion about the fact that the big rusty circular thing looked shorter than ‘usual’.

But, this morning, everything went back to normal.  The big huge circular rusty thing had disappeared.

I am not crazy. Vindication!

No, I’ve discovered that that circular looking thing in the picture above just changes height.  By hundreds of feet.  Bizarre.

3 comments

  1. Linzi · December 14, 2009

    Stop smoking the wacky tabacky, you damn hippies

  2. tanycoed · December 16, 2009

    What IS that thing??

  3. Cindy · December 17, 2009

    The photo is blurry so it’s hard to tell, but I’m pretty sure what you are talking about are those things used to hold natural gas. As in the kind you use to heat your home. So, when it goes low, it’s cos lots of people are using lots of gas. Hence the whole occassionally appearing/disappearing.

    (One of the first things I asked about upon moving here.)

Leave a Reply

