Anniversary

I always forget the date of my anniversary.

You might say, ‘But you’ve only been married for a year and a half, Larissa. How can you have forgotten already? Surely you’re exaggerating for comedic effect.’

Well, anonymous voice of questioning integrity, I do, in fact, always forget the date of my anniversary. Whenever someone asks about it (which, oddly, is more often than one would think), I inevitably get it wrong.

Take, for example, a conversation Red and I were having with our favourite recently engaged couple over dinner the other night:

Them: So how long have you been married now?
Red: About a year and a half. It’ll be two years in December.
Them: What day?
Me: December 18th. I’m always forgetting the date of our anniversary, but I’ve come up with a method for remembering it, and it’s the 18th.
Red: It’s actually the 19th.
Me: Shit.

Now, I don’t know if me never remembering the exact date of our wedding makes me an incredibly modern married woman who doesn’t put a lot of stock in the day itself, because, after all, it’s just a day on which nothing actually happens from that point on. I mean, birthdays are way better. I can get behind birthdays. I get to eat cake!

Christmas? Presents!
Easter? Chocolate!
Guy Fawkes night? Fireworks!!

In contrast, anniversaries are kind of lame.

I don’t know what Red and I did last December 19th. Probably nothing.

Or, I don’t know if me never remembering the exact date of our wedding makes me a terribly unthoughtful person.

Maybe a bit of both.

And I’m fine with that.

___________________

For those of you wondering what my method of remembering the exact date of our anniversary is, I’ll tell you. It’s very simple. I always THINK that our anniversary is on the 18th of December, so I really KNOW that it’s on the 19th, because I know that I always think it’s on the wrong date. Except, well, it always ends up going a little like this: I always THINK that our anniversary is on the 18th of December, so I really KNOW that it’s on the 18th of December.

Kind of a shitty memory aid, you say. Yes, I know.

I suspect that I always think our anniversary is on the 18th because my very dear sister’s birthday is on the 18th (of September), so it’s a number that’s in the forefront of my memory.

Or it suggests a rather worryingly creepy incestuous thing going on in my mind.

Whichever.

2 comments

  1. molly · May 22, 2010

    i remember this conversation well. this is yet another reminder of why you are one of my fave couples – that lovely role reversal 🙂

  2. Jessica · June 11, 2010

    I thought I was the only dummy who tried to remember stuff with that same method.

Leave a Reply

