People are weird on the internet

me: Someone came to my blog by searching for “halige sex” on the internet. [twice]

Alan: ?!

me: I mean, I know why they ended up there.

Alan: I don’t think I want to know.

me: But I don’t really want to know what they were really searching for when they put “halige sex” into Google.

Alan: indeed

me: I used to talk about Old English a lot.

me: And “halige” is an inflected form of of the word “halig”, which means holy.

me: But I don’t think they were really looking for “holy sex” in Anglo-Saxon literature.

Alan: Even by the standards of the internet, that would be an impressively specific fetish.

Well – my curiosity got the best of me, and Urban Dictionary soon made everything clear. “Halige” is “another way to say Let’s play some Halo.” There was clearly a enormous chasm in the (modern) English lexicon, and this word filled it, people.

Why someone would be looking for some Halo-playing cybersex buddies has yet to be fully analysed – and lies outside the scope of this blog post.