It’s 10 o’clock

I’ve been posting a lot of conversations I have with my colleague Alan on this space. But that’s because my conversations with Alan at work tickle me and I just want to share them with the world. I swear I do other things in life other than talking to Alan.

Like eating. I eat a lot.

It’s 10 o’clock, and so far today I’ve consumed:

  • Weetabix
  • Greek yogurt
  • a banana
  • honey
  • peanut butter
  • cheese
  • coffee
  • more coffee

And I’m still hungry.

I’ve been watching this really terrible television show imported from America that airs every day when I get home from work (before Red gets home so that he can’t make me feel bad about my bad television-watching habits, which he’s wont to do) on that new television channel for sad, old women* called I used to be fat. These fat teenagers give up their summers – usually consisting of about 90 days – to train every day with a personal trainer and drop the flab in fantastically bad-for-you weightloss times.

What I don’t understand is how all these fat people are doing so much exercise whilst simultaneously eating dinners consisting of what I can only assume is air and water.

I mean, I cycle to work and do yoga 3 mornings a week, and I find myself wanting to eat my own arm on a daily basis.

When’s lunch?

___________________________________________________________

*called Really. Also airs shows like 16 and pregnant and Snog, Marry Avoid

Robots, unicorns and Stanley Kubrick

Alan: Together we are robots, divided we are unicorns.

Me: I can’t decide which I’d prefer to be, honestly.

Alan: Let’s go to Candy Mountain, Charlie!

Me: I mean, robots are pretty bad@ss…

Me: but in the ‘I’d like to have my own robot’ kind of way

Me: not the ‘I’d like to be a mindless robot’ way

Me: unless you were a sentient robot

Alan: And then it’d be 2001: A Space Odyssey all over again

Alan: LARISSA 9000

Me: just what do you think you’re doing, Alan?

Me: man, that film both weirded and freaked me out at the same time.

Alan: Kubrick rocks.

Me: if by ‘rocks’ you mean ‘is a total weirdo’.

I'm watching you.